Y Nayudamma Memorial Award

2 lady scientists, Tessy Thomas & Geeta Varadan, got the Y Nayudamma Memorial Award for the year 2014. Tessy Thomas's Director, Advanced Systems Laboratory of the Defence Research & Development Organisation, Hyderabad & Project Director (Mission) Agni V whereas Geeta Varadan's Director of the Advanced Data Processing Research Institute of ISRO. The awards'll be taken away to the winners by former premier of the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights & Ramon Magsaysay prize recipient Shanta Sinha at event to be conducted in Tenali, Andhra Pradesh on 03 1, 2015.

The prize's instituted in 1986 in memory of global leather scientist & former director general of CSIR, Yelavarthy Nayudamma. Among the distinguished scientists & technocrats rewarded with the prize were, Sam Pitroda, Jayant Vishnu Narlikar, Lalji Singh, Rajendra Pawar, V. Shanta, V.K. Saraswat, T. Ramasami, A. Sivathanu Pillai & Nori Dattatreyudu etc.

On the occasion, Thomas & Varadan'll also give the 23rd Y Nayudamma memorial speeches on- `Make in India - Defence requirements & initiatives’ & `Remote sensing technology for national needs’ respectively. Founder & Managing Trustee of the Y Nayudamma Memorial Trust, P Vishnu Murthy said in a release that this's the foremost duration in the annals of the trust that 2 eminent lady scientists were being concurrently honoured. The trust had earlier rewarded V Shanta of the Adyar Cancer Research Institute, Chennai.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Do pass your comments here.